Nominees For MSHSL'S 2020 ExCEL Awards

Six District 833 juniors nominated for 2020 ExCEL Awards
Posted on 12/18/2019
ExCEL Award LogoSix South Washington County Schools students have been nominated for the Minnesota State High School League’s (MSHSL) ExCEL Awards. ExCEL (Excellence in Community, Education and Leadership) is a unique recognition program designed exclusively for Minnesota high school juniors who are active in school activities, show leadership qualities, volunteer in their communities and are model citizens. East Ridge High School has nominated juniors Allison Benjamin and Caden Nienow, Park High School has nominated juniors Corinna Loshek and Henry Fischer, and Woodbury High School has nominated juniors Michele Yang and Tanner Ignaszewski to represent their schools.

East Ridge High School’s Allison Benjamin participates in tennis, choir, theater and speech. She received many honors and recognitions for her performances such as achieving a Superior Rating in solo musical theater, receiving a Minnesota Spotlight Award and being a State Tournament Qualifier for speech. She is also a member of the National Honor Society, Superintendent’s Advisory Council, Youth Advisory Council, Tri-M Music Honor Society and the Personalized Learning Student Advisory Council. Alison volunteers with Relay For Life, Woodbury Community Theater, St. Therese and Woodbury Senior Living Center.

East Ridge High School’s Caden Nienow participates in football and hockey, where he is a positive role model and leader. He is a member of National Honor Society, Peer Tutoring, Unified Club and Fellowship of Christian Athletes. Caden’s community service involvement includes the Salvation Army, Feed My Starving Children, church, Special Olympics, youth hockey clinics and officiating youth football.

Park High School’s Corinna Loshek is captain of the tennis team and was part of the softball team that took second place in the 2018 state tournament, receiving All-Conference and All-Section honors. She is involved in National Honor Society, Superintendent’s Advisory Council, Key Club, choir, Leaders of the Pack and is a Link Crew leader. Outside of school, Loshek is very involved in the community, helping with youth sports camps and clinics.

Park High School’s Henry Fischer participates in nordic skiing, track and clay target and cross country, where he will serve as captain his senior year. He is also involved in National Honor Society, Key Club and band. Fischer is very involved in Boy Scouts, working on numerous community and conservation projects, as well as volunteering with a local youth running series.
Michelle Yang is a member of the golf team, receiving All-Conference honors for three years as well as having participated in the state tournament. She is a member of the Student Council, Key Club, National Honor Society, Hmong Club, Science Olympiad and orchestra where she was a section leader. Yang is also a frequent volunteer in the community and within the school.

Woodbury High School’s Tanner Ignaszweski participates in Student Council, Key Club, Royal Connections, Yearbook, Link Crew and is a member of the golf team. He has also served as a classroom representative and member of the Superintendent’s Advisory Council. Outside of school, Tanner works for the Community Theatre, assisting in numerous productions, as well as being an avid volunteer in local middle schools and in his church.

This is the 24th year that the MSHSL has sponsored the ExCEL Award. An independent panel of judges from schools throughout Minnesota will select ExCEL Award recipients in January. Award winners will be announced via the League website in February and will be recognized on KSTC-TV during the broadcast of the 2020 winter tournaments.

Congratulations to these students for demonstrating excellence in community, education and leadership!