July 20, 2017 Minutes



06:30 p.m. Thursday, July 20, 2017

District Service Center / Cottage Grove, MN

1.0 Call to Order; Roll Call

Pursuant to due call and notice thereof, a regular meeting of the School Board of Independent School District 833, South Washington County, was held on Thursday, July 20, 2017. The meeting was called to order by Chair Katy McElwee-Stevens, at 6:30pm, at the District Service Center, located at 7362 East Point Douglas Road South, Cottage Grove, Minnesota. School Board Members present were: Tracy Brunnette, Ron Kath, Katy McElwee-Stevens, Katie Schwartz, Sharon Van Leer and Michelle Witte. Superintendent Keith Jacobus was present.

2.0 Pledge of Allegiance

3.0 Approval of Agenda:

It was moved by Tracy Brunnette and seconded by Sharon Van Leer to approve the agenda. All in favor, none opposed. Motion passed.

4.0 District Highlights:

4.1 SoWashCo CARES

Bob Lawrence, Director of Community Education

Sue McKeown and Cheryl Jogger shared how they've raised money, food and items for District 833 students in need.

5.0 Public Comment:

The following individual addressed the board:

Mary Yapp of Woodbury regarding choice programming

6.0 Consent Items:

6.1 Approval of Retirements, Resignations and Terminations

6.2 Approval of Leaves of Absence

6.3 Approval of New Employees/Change of Status

6.4 Approval of Extended Field Trips

6.5 Approval of contract with NE Metro 916

6.6 Approval of June 22, 2017 School Board meeting minutes

6.7 Approval of MOU - South Washington Watershed District & South Washington County Schools

6.8 Approval of Rebid of Oltman Middle School Lockers

6.9 Approval of the Identified Official with Authority for MDE

6.10 Approval of a teaching agreement with Wisconsin Indianhead Technical College

6.11 Approval of Lease Purchase Financing for School Buses

6.12 Approval of Operating Lease of Special Education Buses

6.13 Approval of Resolution to Accept Gifts

6.14 Approval of Electronic Fund Transfers

It was moved by Sharon Van Leer and seconded by Katie Schwartz to approve the consent agenda items. All in favor. None opposed. Motion carried

7.0 Workshop Items: Agenda item scheduled for the August 3, 2017 meeting.

8.0 Information Items:

8.1 Financial Update

Dan Pyan, Director of Finance

He reviewed current enrollment estimates and noted the Auditors will be at the district next month. The district received a certificate of excellence in financial reporting from ASBO for the 10th year in a row.

9.0 Discussion Items:

9.1 Middle School Attendance Boundary Discussion (PPT)

Mike Johnson, Assistant Superintendent

Mike Vogel, Interim Director of Facilities and Construction Management

They reviewed the timeline and process. Dr. Jacobus addressed common questions and themes that have reoccurred at community meetings, emails and public comment sessions. Mr. Vogel then reviewed the three proposed plans. Discussions were held. Following the presentation, public comment was accepted regarding Middle School Attendance Boundaries.

The following people addressed the board:

Benjamin Sayers, student, W64

Andrew Sayers, student, W64

Todd Wiggins, W40

Daniel Gaede, W64

David Pyrz, W64

John Kaehler, W64

Nicole Middlecamp, W64

Amy Anderson, W64

Amy Meyers, W40

Pete LaPage, W67

Casey Anderson, W64

Gloria Sharp, W67

Jim Fuschetto, W40

9.2 Residential Survey Results and Referendum Discussion (PPT)

Keith Jacobus, Superintendent

Dr. Jacobus introduced Peter Leatherman of The Morris Leatherman Company to summarize the results of the 2017 community survey. A discussion regarding referendum questions was held following the presentation.

10.0 Action Items:

10.1 Approval of the Resolution to fill vacant Board Seat (Resolution)

Keith Jacobus, Superintendent

It was motioned by Ron Kath and seconded by Sharon Van Leer to approve the resolution, postponing an appointment until the seat can be filled during the election. Tracy Brunnette, Ron Kath, Katy McElwee-Stevens, Katie Schwartz, Sharon Van Leer and Michelle Witte voted in favor, none opposed. Motion passed.

10.2 Approval of the MSHSL Membership

Mike Johnson, Assistant Superintendent

Each year the School Board must view the Why We Play video and approve membership to the State High School League. Michelle Witte motioned to approve the membership, seconded by Tracy Brunette. Tracy Brunnette, Ron Kath, Katy McElwee-Stevens, Katie Schwartz, Sharon Van Leer and Michelle Witte voted in favor, none opposed. Motion passed.

11.0 Reports and Comments:

11.1 Superintendent's Report

Dr. Jacobus reported on summer school and the summer curriculum re-design process.

12.0 Future Meeting Dates:

12.1 July 31, 2017 - School Board/Cabinet Retreat (DSC/6:30p.m.)

12.2 August 3, 2017 - School Board Meeting (DSC/6:30 p.m.)

12.3 August 17, 2017 - School Board Meeting (DSC/6:30 p.m.)

13.0 Adjournment

Katie Schwartz motioned to adjourn the meeting. Seconded by Ron Kath. All in favor, none opposed, motion passed. The board adjourned at 10:32pm.